Why are you walking?

Why are you walking?  What prompted your willingness to get registered and become a sponsored walker?  Here’s a note from Kelly White, a foster mom who is chairing these year’s Walk (Go Kelly & Matt!) on why she is walking:

We are walking for the children – those who feel trauma and loss, who long to know God’s love through a family.  Ultimately it is God’s deep concern for these kids that drives everything we do at the Walk.

But another reason I will be walking this year is to support the foster families.  As a fellow foster mom, I understand the day-in, day-out weariness – and joy – that comes with being a healing home.  And in the sea of support blogs for parents out there, there is often a vacuum of support for foster and adoptive parents.  But at the Walk, this isolation is cast off and families are bolsterwhitesed by the encouragement of the community rallying around the mission central to their lives, these precious children.

Last year, my family participated in the walk, and the message of support we received that day was awe-inspiring.  God truly ministered to me that day and the days leading up to the walk.  With every contribution we received, our hearts overflowed.

And this year, I am praying that our declaration of support for these children and the families God has brought to them will be even greater.  That our foster and adoptive families will be renewed.  That the effect of this renewal will be a reignited passion to spread the message about these children.  And that as God’s message is shared, one day we will see no waiting children.

I, too, was very inspired last year to be in one place, gathered with so many families who have answered the call to foster and adopt.  It filled my heart with awe for an amazing Father!

What’s your story?  Would you drop me a note (eric@walkforthewaiting.org) and let me know why you’re walking?  I know there are many inspiring stories out there and I’d love to encourage others with them!

Thanks for Walking and see you at War Memorial Stadium!
Eric

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑